Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

Contact Information

Do you have an interest or passion for the humanities? We welcome inquiries and potential partnerships from all students, staff, faculty and the community at large. 

  • Phone: 859-257-1537
  • Fax: 859-257-4543
  • Address: 218 E. Maxwell St. Lexington, KY 40506 (upstairs of Bingham Davis House)

The Gaines office is open weekdays from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. throughout the academic year. Those needing accessibility accommodations are encouraged to reach out prior their visit so that Gaines staff may provide adequate options. 

Primary Contacts

Photo Contact Info
Photo of Dr. Shein
Richard Schein
Acting Director, Gaines Center
Primary Contacts
Bingham Davis House, 218 E. Maxwell
Chelsea Brislin, Associate Director
Chelsea Brislin
Associate Director
Primary Contacts
Bingham Davis House, 218 E. Maxwell
Catherine at Shaker Village
Catherine Brereton
Program Coordinator
Primary Contacts
Bingham Davis House, 218 E. Maxwell

Gaines Board

The Gaines Center is proud to have support from these outstanding Kentuckians who wish to use their passion and influence to improve humanities throughout the Commonwealth. 

Matthew Clarke

Matthew Clarke is a Gaines alum. He is an architect, planner, and writer, and serves as the Executive Director of the Design Trust for Public Space, a private foundation promoting social justice through architecture and planning.

Jennifer B. Coffman

Jennifer is a former Gaines Fellow and retired U.S. District Judge for Eastern and Western Districts of Kentucky.

Clay Dunn

Clay is the Online Community Director at Share Our Strength and creator/writer of

John Edinger

"Jed" is co-owner of  J. Edinger & Son, Inc. a family-owned and operated truck equipment company that specializes in the fabrication, installation and servicing of a variety of vocational vehicles. 

Carol Farmer

Carol Farmer is active advocate for Kentucky's equine industry and owner of Shadowlawn Farm in Midway, KY. 

Melody Flowers

Melody is a former Gaines Fellow and currently services as the University of Kentucky's Executive Director for Strategic Analysis and Policy. 

Joan B. Gaines

Joan Gaines, and her husband John, founded the UK Gaines Center for the Humanities in 1984. 

Thomas Gaines

Thomas is the CEO of KBC International Inc. and Gaines Thoroughbreds. He is the son of the Center founders John and Joan Gaines.

Jim Gray

Jim Gray is the Secretary of Transportation for the Commonwealth of Kentucky and former Lexington Mayor.

Steve Grossman (Chair)

Steve is the Senior Vice President of Hilliard Lyons and Chair of the Board of Trustees for the Lexington Downtown Development Authority.  

Donna S. Hall

Donna is an active philanthropist who supports a number of organizations such as the Everglades Foundation Chairman’s Advisory Council, the Naples Botanical Garden board and Berea College's Board of Trustees. 

Adam Kegley

Adam is a former Gaines Fellow and member of Frost, Brown, Todd LLC.

Josephine D. Richardson

Josephine is a restaurateur and bookshop owner based in Whitesburg, KY where she is an active advocate for Appalachian writers, artisans and craftspeople. 

Daniel Rowland

Dan is professor emeritus in the University of Kentucky Department of History and former director of the Gaines Center. 

Josh Santana

Josh is a founding partner at Santana and Fay, LLC. 

Scott Shapiro

Scott is a senior advisor in the Lexington Mayor's Office and former Gaines Fellow.

Jay Varellas

Jay is a partner of Varellas & Varellas in Lexington, a past recipient of the prestigious Truman Scholarship and former Gaines Fellow.

Holly Wiedemann

Holly is founding principal and President of AU Associates, Inc. She has specifically worked in the renovation, creation, adaptive reuse, and development of affordable housing since 1986. She serves on multiple boards including Lexington Center/Rupp Arena Board, the Cleveland Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank, National Housing and Rehabilitation Association, the Triangle Foundation and Fayette Alliance.

Richard Young

Richard Young is the Founder and Executive Director of CivicLex, a civic education organization that has been recognized by the Library of Congress and the American Academy of Arts and Science as a solution for rebuilding American Democracy for the 21st Century. 

Gaines Faculty Advisory Committee

Stephen Davis

Stephen Davis is an Associate Professor in the College of Arts & Sciences. He is affiliated with the Department of African American and Africana Studies, the Department of History, the Social Theory Program, and the Commonwealth Institute for Black Studies. 

Herman D. Farrell III

Herman D. Farrell III is a Professor in the College of Fine Arts, Department of Theatre and Dance. 

Karyn Hinkle

Karyn Hinkle, a Gaines alumna, is a visual and performing arts librarian based in the Lucille Caudill Little Fine Arts Library. 

Lou Hirsch

Lou Hirsch is an Assistant Professor in the College of Agriculture, Food, and Environment, Department of Plant Pathology. 

Darshak Patel

Darshak Patel is a Senior Lecturer of Economics in the Gatton College of Business and Economics. 

Kelly Pennell

Kelly Pennell is a Professor of Civil Engineering in the Stanley & Karen Pigman College of Engineering. She is also the Director of the UK Superfund Research Center. 

Rebekah Radtke

Rebekah Radtke is an Associate Professor in the College of Design, School of Interiors. 

M. Sara Rosenthal

M. Sara Rosenthal is a Professor in the Departments of Internal Medicine, Pediatrics and Behavioral Science and the Founding Directorof the Program for Bioethics and the MCC Oncology Ethics Program

Leon Sachs

Leon Sachs is an Associate Professor in the College of Arts & Sciences, Department of Modern and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Cultures. 

Ryan Voogt

Ryan Voogt is a Lecturer in the Lewis Honors College. 

Crystal Wilkinson

Crystal Wilkinson is an Associate Professor in the College of Arts & Sciences. She is affiliated with the Department of English, the Appalachian Center, the Department of African American and Africana Studies, and the Commonwealth Institute for Black Studies.